0795 1138579

A match made in Heaven


Yoga naturally arises in every breath you take. You are just not aware of this. The secret is to train your mind and become attuned to the quiet background on which life happens. To understand our world this deeper way, Ayurveda guides us to do this.

Veda is the ‘science of life’ and Yoga is merely a part of this vast subject.


What is Ayurveda


According to Ayurveda, humans like the universe are made up of five elements: Ether, Air, Fire, Water, and Earth as well as the soul. These elements are called the Mahabhootas. Ayurveda suggests that the human body is a microcosm of the universe, that we are a reflection of the world we live in.

The 3 Doshas

The elements, when recognised in their biological form in the body, are called the 3 doshas. Pitta, Kapha, and Vata.
All activity and functions of the body and mind whether normal or abnormal are said to be dependent on one of these doshas.

To learn of which dosha belongs to your individual constitution, a number of body formatives are taken into account, these include: skin type, bone frame, neck size, also the shape size and colour of the eyes, nose, lips, and mouth. Actions are also taken into account, such as thinking, memory recollection, speech, and beliefs. We must also consider activities, such as sexual, work, and lifestyle.

How the Elements Manifest

Ether: In the structure of the universe ether represents space; it’s essential quality is sound. It is related to the wind and represents subtlety. The characteristics of Ether are fine, smooth, soft, Effects are: Porous, lightening and producing.

Air: In the structure of the universe air represents motion, its essential quality is touch. It represents the principal of propulsion. The characteristics are: Pight, cold, dry, rough, fine, Effect are: Stimulating motion and activating.

Fire: Fire represents energy its essential energy is appearance. It is related to the Sun and represents the principal of conversion and transformation. Characteristics of fire are: Hot, sharp, fine, light, dry and clear, Effects are: Stimulating and energy forming.

Water: In the universal structure water represents cohesion (staying together) its essential quality is taste, it is related to the Moon. Water represents the principal of cooling. Its characteristics are: Flowing, cold, slow, soft, mucous, Effects are: Moistening, and dissolving.

Earth: In the structure of the universe earth represents mass. Its essential quality is smell. It’s also related to the Moon and represents the principal of solidity. Its characteristics are: Heavy, Solid hard, slow, rough and clear. Effects are: Growth and stability.

The concept of Ayurveda is to balance the Doshas, through right knowledge of the elements. A specefic Yoga practice, that helps balance the Doshas, can be practiced to keep the ourselves in harmony with the universe and everything in it.

More about Doshas Which Dosha am I?

Ayurveda and Yoga Workshops with Glen

Learn how Ayurveda can deepen your practice and find out which Asana practice better suits your constitution.


Ask Questions Make Booking